The Weekend

Hub was in Virginia all weekend at some god-awful Boy Scout Jamboree or Camporee or Valderee, valderah, Valderee, valderah-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha.

Apparently this is the first Jamboree since Clinton that the sitting president has not attended. This fact gave my husband, the staunch Republican something to bitch about…so that’s always a good thing.

Some very sad news in my dad’s family. After a serious fall, Dad’s brother was told that he needed daily care and that he couldn’t live alone anymore and that he needed to go into a nursing home.  He chose not to go with the aid of a 22 rifle.   This is his second brother who has chosen this same option, although my Dad is not aware of this fact.  We were always afraid to tell him how his older brother died and probably would have kept this most recent reason away from him but his sister got to him first.  She told him the sad news on Friday. His heart is broken. Although I truly am so sad for my dad, I’ve got to tell you that after seeing the nursing home “situations” when my dad had his hip replaced, I understand my uncle’s choice.

That is what is sad – that elder care is so horrific in the United States that a person would rather take their own life than be “cared” for by uncaring, uneducated, non-English speaking, illiterate “nursing” staff.

God bless you, Uncle Bill.

I ended up talking to my brother on the phone for about 30 minutes yesterday and we were able to have a really good conversation.  He has to go through a bunch of medical testing and then we will know what he is up against.  Of course, my sisters and I have no intention of telling my Mom anything until we know for sure what is going on.

On a much lighter note, my sister and I took my mom to the new Wegman’s yesterday. She had a ball wandering through the huge food court and buying lots of snacks for her and my Dad. They had a great vintage candy section with Charms and Chuckles and Sky Bars and Mallo Cups!

Who saved Mallo Cup coins when you were little?  Do you remember when you collected enough coins you could send the coins back to the company and they would ship you out a whole box of Mallo cups?  I remember that the box would arrive and I would try to hide it from my sisters in the freezer, but they’d find my stash and it would quickly disappear.

Damn biotches!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Weekend

  1. poolagirl says:

    Mallo Cups? Be still my heart!

Leave a Reply

