Amish Shopping

While in Lancaster we visited “The Quilt & Fabric Shop“.  If you want to make a quilt, this is a great place to shop for your fabrics.  In addition to the great quilt fabrics, they had one whole room filled with fabrics that the Amish women use to make their family’s clothing.  The whole side of one of the rooms was filled with black fabric for the men’s pants and jackets and coats.

We pulled up to the store and parked.  While I was waiting for my husband to finish his cigarette, an Amish woman drove into the parking lot…in this….

Parked right next to my Durango

She parked that buggy, jumped down and tied the horse up without blinking an eye.  I would have loved to spend the afternoon with her talking about sewing and quilting.  For some reason, I feel as if I could learn sooooo much from an afternoon with her….but what would she learn from me?

What are you looking at?

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Amish Shopping

  1. This post and the last, about Lancaster, reminded me of going to a Huge Fair one Summer back in the 1950’s….(Did I already share tbis???)
    I tasted and bought the BEST BEST BEST Chedder Cheese I have ever eaten—to this day. I can still remember it and have tried to find another Chedder like it, for years and years—No Sale! I believe it had been made by some of the Amish people in the area……That’s what this post made me think about!

    • JJ says:

      Oh, I’m so glad I could bring back some great memories for you and they do make great cheese! If you want, I’ll be happy to pick some up and mail it to you the next time we go!

  2. kenju says:

    I’m glad to find a comment from you – and surprised to find that you follow my blog (and I didn’t know it).

    I enjoyed reading all your posts on this page and I’ll be back.

    I’ve only been through the Lancaster area once and we were on our way to NYC and pressed for time so we didn’t get to stop. Amish people fascinate me. I’ve read 5-6 books set in Amish settlements and enjoyed them very much.

    • JJ says:

      I love to visit Lancaster and it’s only about an hour ride for us. Sometimes we turn off the Garmin and just drive up and down the back roads, past all of the beautiful farms. We’ll see the men leading a team of horses in the fields and the children walking to school with their lunch pails. It seems like a hard but simpler life…if that’s possible.

Leave a Reply

