A Day in Bucks County, PA

Prior to the magic of eFfexor, I was happy to stay home all weekend.  I guess happy isn’t the right word – safe is actually the correct word.  My agoraphobia and OCD controlled my life and my family’s life – we rarely did “day trips” or took impromptu drives through the countryside.

Even though I am not presently going to a therapist, I am still working on what I learned while I was seeing him. I try to do something – anything new each day or at least each week.  My only issue is that if we go far from home on a day trip, I have to be back home before it gets dark.  I know, I know, it sounds crazy and maybe eventually I’ll be able to work through that issue too, but I think I’ve come really far since I first started this healing journey and I’m just proud of myself that I’m moving forward.

Yesterday, Hub and I went to Fallsington Day.  It’s held in the quaint village of Fallsington – a town whose architecture reminds me of Cape May.  There were many demonstrations of early American life alongside modern jewelry booths and craft items I bought myself two pairs of earrings.

 

Murano Glass

 

 

Celtic Knot

 

There was also a great flea market where Hub bought 10 books for $2.00 and I picked up a couple of vintage Christmas decorations and a Betty Crocker “party cookbook” from 1960.

 


It's Party Time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also bought these earrings that are too big to wear – but not too big to hang on my Christmas tree!

 

Earrings /Ornaments

 

We then went to the Mercer Museum which was really interesting, but after about two hours, I was jonesing to get back outside in the gorgeous weather. See,  Hub and I view museums differently.  Hub reads every plaque and card that is shown with each item.  I’m more of a browser.  If the museum gives me an audio device, I’ll occasionally use that for a further description of an item but I don’t linger in any section.

By myself, I could have been in and out of the museum in under two hours, but I kept my mounting frustration at bay while Hub read all there was to know about whale boats and stage coaches and early American hunters and clock makers and tailors and furriers and shoe makers, etc.  AAAGGGHHHH!

Hub finally finished reading and we left the museum and found a little restaurant for dinner. Hub had me home before the street lights came on and I was a happy girl!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Day in Bucks County, PA

  1. poolagirl says:

    Sounds like quite a day! It would take your hub 3 hours to do my museum. Just a warning for when you come to visit me! Hint hint hint/

  2. Oh boy – I think that BC Party Book is the one with the Crisco Cake recipe in it. Betty was all about the Crisco, back in the day.

  3. Yankee Chick says:

    I love reading about your fun day trips with the Hubs. Especially because I can’t seem to get mine to do that any more! Very frustrating. His response is always, “Call V and see if she’ll go.” or “Give D a holler and take her with you.” He doesn’t get it that my friends have family here. They do stuff with their GRANDCHILDREN on the weekends, just like I would if he hadn’t moved me 3804 miles away from them!! The least he can do is entertain me, right??? But, I keep trying and shall not give up! In the meanwhile, I live vicariously thru you and your fun day trips :).

    • JJ says:

      My girlfriend ( her grandchildren live in South Dakota) and I were just talking about our friends who spend all of their spare time with their grandchildren. I’m not jealous of them, but I, like you, wish I could see them more often!
      I’ll try to think of a real exciting place to go on our next trip!! 🙂

  4. LA says:

    Excellent day and life philosophy! ~LA

  5. JJ says:

    I should call this blog “Joan’s Excellent Adventures”. hahaha!

  6. FredTheMan says:

    Nice compliment about Fallsington day, I love it, until the crowds aggravate me; but all in all, it is a nice hour of my day. Maybe next year we can share lemonade and funnel cake at Fallsington Day 2011.

Leave a Reply

