Nose and Pumpkin Picking

Hub went camping this weekend but contrary to other camping weekends, I wasn’t able to lay around and read and eat bonbons all day.  Damn!

Yesterday I was invited to two different parties.  One was a First Communion party for my boss’s son and the other was a birthday party for the four-year old next who lives next door.

Now, friends, I have to be honest with you.  I’m not really crazy about little kids.  Of course I love my children and my grandchildren, but that’s about it…and I think I only want to be around them because I’m related to them – and not for long stretches of time.  I’ve always been this way – even when Hub and I were dating, I told him I didn’t know if I wanted children at all.

I know, I’m selfish.  But when little kids are around, they bring noise and germs and funny smells and I usually end up with some kind of stain on my shirt.

So, I went to both of these events and actually had a good time.  I stayed as far away from the curtain climbers and rugrats as I was able to.  I almost had to talk to the Communion kid when I went to give him his card, but he refused to stop bouncing in the moon bounce so his mom took the card from me.  Sticky encounter averted.

Today, my Mom, sister and daughter went to visit my older sister who lives about an hour away.  This was another opportunity for me to work on my agoraphobia.  I haven’t driven to my sister’s house in over 10 years – my husband or other sister always drove.  Well, I took the bull by the horns – or car by the steering wheel and just drove.  And guess what – nothing happened!  No panic attack, no sweating or shaking or crapping.  I drove to and fro and we had a great time.  I even took some pics!

 

Brother-in-Law's Pumpkin Patch

 

 

Abandoned Doghouse

 

Back to work tomorrow.  Ugh.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nose and Pumpkin Picking

  1. LA says:

    Good for you! Darn proud. ~LA

  2. Yankee Chick says:

    I’m the exact same way on the kid thing! I hear that loud and clear :). And good for you for making the drive! Score!!

  3. Stephanie says:

    Great shot of the abandoned doghouse!

  4. LA says:

    Dearest JJ,

    Your comment at my place was very sweet. I apologize if some of the things I write about my past leave emotional skidmarks. I forget that having lived through it and come out the other side relatively okay doesn’t mean everyone can handle the bad, even years later and secondhand. Are you okay? Would it be better if I give a bit of a warning when there’s hard things? Sort of like how TV shows warn you when it’ll be scary or violent. Then you (and everyone else) could decide to read or not.

    As far as being a good person, thank you, but I’m not really good, just stubborn. I refused to let what happened to me make me into one of the bad people. If I became like them- horrible and cruel then they would have succeeded in taking everything away from me. I coped by refusing to give into the bad and decided nothing they threw at me would break me. They would NOT win, that’s all. I’m as selfish and flawed as most people, I simply wouldn’t become a complete monster or use their evil as an excuse to fail. See? Just plain old stubborn. ~LA

Leave a Reply

