Hot Flash Friday

Swee'Pea II

I’m thankful that my little Swee’pea II is feeling better today.  He was vomiting for three days – some terrible stomach bug – but the vomiting has stopped, thank God!  Doesn’t he look like a little Cupie doll?

Well, I didn’t fall asleep until after 3:00 this morning, so I was exhausted.  This menopause is killing me.  I may start to fall asleep  and suddenly my heart will start to race and sometimes I break out into a sweat and other times I don’t.  I am so tired of this!  I just had another one – one good thing is when my heart starts racing, I know the flash is coming and I have about 30 seconds to start tearing off my socks and sweaters.

So, I finally fell asleep on the downstairs couch and slept until 10:00 AM.  I read for a while and then had my annual feast of chocolate chip apple pie for breakfast.  I then read for a few more hours and then Daughter and I took a brisk walk around the neighborhood for about 30 minutes.   We  had some leftovers for lunch and then I slipped into a  tryptophan nap and slept deeply for 3 hours!

Hub was at work which was a great thing.  For some reason I can’t completely relax when he’s home and I think it’s because he feels guilty when he isn’t doing something.  I could be laying on the couch, wrapped in a cozy blanket and reading a great book and he’ll take one look at me and then say, “Do you want to go to Home Depot with me?”.  If I say no, he looks so disappointed and then I feel guilty and then there goes my relaxing day.  So, I was very happy that he was working today!

So, today was a very relaxing day.  I deserved it and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  Now…if I can just figure out how to get my grandchildren up here for Christmas…

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hot Flash Friday

  1. Poolie says:

    What a gorgeous baby!

  2. Bex says:

    Ah, I remember menopausal days. I finally discovered if I took three CALCIUM/MAGNESIUM/ZINC tablets every night, the hot flashes were diminished a lot. I believe it’s the magnesium that does it. You might want to try them. I still take 3 of them a day even though menopause has been over with for 12 years or more. They are also good for “regulation” if you know what I mean.

    I used to feel the same about when husband was home. He always wants to be doing something, but now I don’t let it bother me. I just veg out when I can and he doesn’t bother me anymore. In fact, he enjoys a good sit on the bed with a good book now and then, too!

    • JJ says:

      Hmmmm… interesting about the CALCIUM/MAGNESIUM/ZINC pills – cause I shure as hell need to be regulated to more than once every 10 days!

      • twisterjester says:

        Interesting – the magnesium helps fibromyalgia too, along with a lot of other issues. Makes you wonder how many things “modern” life has yanked from our diet and done to mess up our metabolism, doesn’t it?

  3. twisterjester says:

    Lucky you – my hubby doesn’t work and it’s up to me to take us wherever we go. I feel guilty if I stay home and laze about even if I’m sick as a dog.

  4. Jeanette says:

    He’s such a little cutie!! I’m glad he’s feeling better. Those mini anxiety attacks right before a hot flash are almost as bad as the hot flash itself!

Leave a Reply

