This Fricken’ Cough

…is killing me.  Cough  COUGH  cough  COUGH COUGH COUGH COUGH.  I spent all day in bed today sleeping or reading.  I’m dreading going to work tomorrow, because I talk on the phone all day and the cough is aggravated when I talk.  But at least I know the dr’s office will be open, so as soon as I get to work I’m calling my family doc for some damn cough medicine and a Zpack.

My husband starts a new job tomorrow!  For one month he will work three days a week (Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday)  from 7:30 am until 9:30 pm and then have 4 days off.  Then the next month he’ll work Thursday, Friday and Saturday and have the next 4 days off.  The biggest problem with this schedule is that Hub seriously does not know how to relax so I don’t know what the hell he’s going to do on his 4 days off.

Here are some suggestions I’ve made that were met with an icy stare:

Food Shopping
Cooking Dinner
Cleaning his work shop
Painting the front door
Painting the shutters
Re-caulking the tub
Fixing the hole in the closet ceiling cause by the tub leak
Going to the podiatrist for that heel pain that you’ve complained about for over a year

Hub and I went out on New Year’s Eve with some old friends.  We had a good time…except for this damn cough.  I wanted to try a chocolate martini but I didn’t think it would mix with the Nyquil.  I didn’t see the ball drop because as soon as we walked in our door at 10:30, I went up to my bedroom, had a shot glass of cough medicine and went right to bed.  I think I heard fireworks, but it could have just been my barking cough bringing me to the surface of my sleep.

Popeye did not text me at 12:01 as he has done in the past.  That could mean he is ashamed, angry, in jail, high or deceased.

Oh, one more thing, my husband told me I have to stop spilling my guts to everyone who asks about him, so I guess you guys are just going to have to be my sounding board.  Now aren’t you the lucky ones?

Here’s a pic from Christmas Eve…before the Swee’Peas got to it!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This Fricken’ Cough

  1. I HATE when a cough shows up and won’t go away. Ugh. I hope you’re feeling better soon and cough free!

  2. Kathy says:

    We’re here for you!

  3. Bex says:

    I found, the last time I had a non-stop cough, was that the only thing that soothed my throat was Riccola cough losenges. They helped a lot. Nothing else, including cough medicine, ever did. Good luck to you.

  4. Carol says:

    Feel better soon. The tree looks really pretty.

  5. Yankee Chick says:

    Wow! Your tree looked beautiful. What a great picture! Sorry about your cough. That does really suck. I acquired one last night that seems to be developing into something more substantial today. I see cough syrup and Z-Packs in my near future, too.

Leave a Reply

