Bedazzled Sacrilege

Do you remember my post on November 7 when I wrote about the Bedazzled Mary and Jesus and how horrified I was by their tackiness?

My mother has been telling me for over a week that my cousin (who reads my blog) sent me a gift for Christmas.  I’ve been so sick and I’ve tried to stay away from my parents since the onset of my cough.  This morning (after my 2nd dose of the antibiotic), I stopped at the Church rectory (where Mom works and genuflects every time she is asked to make copies for any of the priests) to see her.  She handed me bags of candy and a Christmas cactus, two Christmas handkerchiefs, a dvd of the Radio City Christmas show and more candy.

She was so excited to see what my cousin sent me and begged me to open the present right away…in the sacred office…of the Catholic Church rectory…where priests live and wander through haphazardly.  Look what I unwrapped!!!!

Bedazzled Mary!

Not only is this statue sacrilegious for it’s sparkly appearance, I now see that Mary has a slit in the back of her head and she can be used as a bank for those of you who may want to save your alms for the poor in an appropriate container. My cousin was kind enough to put some money in the bank to get me started on my savings for pagan babies.

Now, I had to enclose a picture of my cousin that was taken on my wedding day, October 1, 1977. She doesn’t look like the type of person who would casually dare to incur the wrath of God, now does she??

Don't let her beauty fool you!

Thanks Peggy!!  You crack me up!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bedazzled Sacrilege

  1. Poolie says:

    Pagan babies! They sold those at Borders here in San Diego. Not the babies, the banks. LOL!

  2. I am generally cautious about making fun of any religion, but pink spangled mary is a bit much even for me to respect, lol.

  3. Bex says:

    Not being catholic, or the member of any organized religion, I am leaving this subject totally alone, thank-you-very-much!

    The only thing I do have to say is – the colour! Ooof!

  4. Peggy says:

    Thanks for the mention in your blog!
    I hope Bedazzled Mary brightens your new year!
    It would be great for pagan babies…….We don’t send money to pagan babies any more…I wonder how they are doing….

Leave a Reply

