No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

Last week I brought a bunch of fabric remnants into work and placed them on the coffee station with a sign that read. “Free to a Good Home”.  Every scrap disappeared within an hour.

Today, I brought in two little pairs of toddler’s’ shoes that a friend had given me for Swee’ Pea.  They were too small for her so I figured I would bring them into work and see if anyone could use them.  I put the little pink sneakers and brown suede MaryJanes on the coffee station with the same note “Free to a Good Home”. 

Simple, right??

All hell broke loose and someone actually took a picture of the shoes with their cell phone and sent it to the Executive Director’s Secretary.  This person didn’t think I should have put the shoes on the counter and was making a formal complaint.  Now, this complaint wasn’t against me personally because no one had seen me place them there.

The picture made its way around our office and someone sent the picture to my supervisor who thought it was sooooooo fricken’  hilarious that she called me over to look at the picture of those sweet little shoes.  When I told her that I was the one that brought them in, she was visibly embarrassed.  I guess she could tell that I was upset and so she immediately minimized the picture on her computer.  When she told me who took the picture, I marched my ass right over to the asshole’s desk and said,

 “Oh John, I understand you have a problem with my bringing in those shoes”.

He replied, “Oh, ummm, that was you?  Oh no, um, no, I just thought it was a funny picture.”

Asshole.

Another coworker gave me a condescending smile and said, “Oh, you know you’re getting just like that girl that they fired last year that used to give Christmas gifts to everyone.  She was nice, but she was a little odd”.

WTF???

I was so upset and angry that I threw the shoes in the trash.  Now here’s my question.  What the hell kind of lives are these people living that two pairs of toddler’s shoes could create such an uproar?? 

I have got to get a new job!

Oh, I just strated reading another new blog,  “A Cheerful Heart”  and the author is giving away a sweet bird nest necklace  You, too, can enter for a chance to win!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

  1. Poolie says:

    Fuck me dead! That whole thing is beyond ridiculous! New job is most definitely in order!

  2. How truly, truly sad that people can take an act of kindness and turn it into something crude and rude. I’m sorry you’re dealing with crap like that and hope you can find a job where your generosity is welcomed and reciprocated.

  3. catsoul says:

    Wow, I know exactly what you mean about your co-workers. Some of my ex-co-workers were like that. I so wish that there were more people in this life, just like you Joan, such a huge and caring, kind heart. Never meaning to do anyone any harm. I so understand your feelings about those shoes. I also don’t understand why people don’t step up when they have something to say to me for example. Don’t go around the person. I was taught from early on, when you don’t have something kind and/or nice to say about a person, keep it to yourself. Take care. =^..^=

  4. Bex says:

    They have all been living thru television so long that they are regurgitating the lines they hear on the tube as if they were their own. Feel sorry for them, for they (probably) know not what they do. Or think. Or feel. They are poor souls that need guidance.

  5. mercystreet says:

    That sucks. I hope you can find a new job.

  6. These people sound like they have no hearts….!

    I thank you so much for yours, my dear…Your kind caring words about dear Betty, meant a lot to me, and I thank you with all my heart.

  7. terri t says:

    Oh, I only wish you would have posted the picture of those sweet little shoes. I bet they were adorable and if I had someone to give them to….I would have taken them in a minute. Hope you don’t let bad mannered people make you feel bad for being generous…..

Leave a Reply

