Sewing Sucks

Happy Presidents’ Day!

For some reason our employer gave us the day off this year.  Last year, they begged us to come in and even paid us double time and a half as a bribe, but I guess our union guys didn’t need to annoy us as much this year.  Who knows?

Evil Sewing Machine

The other night I went to Joanne Fabrics and was looking through the materials for blouses.  Another customer struck up a conversation with me about a beautiful fabric that I was looking at. I commented that it was kind of sheer and that I wouldn’t be able to wear it to work and she recommended that I line the blouse with another material.  I told her that I’m not a really good seamstress and that I get easily frustrated and she was very enthusiastic and told me that I should just keep trying.

Encouraged by her positive words, I attempted to sew a blouse today.   JUST KILL ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I  had cut out the pattern about 6 months ago and the pieces were forgotten in my sewing cabinet.  I knew something had scared me off when I last looked at the instructions and when I re-read them today, I saw the dreaded word ….darts.

I pushed aside my fears and searched all of my sewing baskets for the tracing paper and the tracing wheel.  After about 20 minutes, I found them and began to mark the darts.  The material was dark and the tracing paper was dark, but I finally saw the lines show up on the fabric.

I uncovered my machine and started sewing and quickly realized that the bobbin wasn’t threaded correctly.  I had this huge fvcking mess of thread knotted under the fabric.  After wasting another 20 minutes fixing the bobbin and ripping out the thread blob, I started sewing on the darts.  After ripping them out twice, I gave up and told myself that the shirt didn’t need darts.

By now, my heart was racing and I was sweating like a pig.  I thought this was supposed to be relaxing!  I smoothed everything out and sewed the front to the back at the shoulder seams.  So far, so good!  I then picked up the pattern instructions and saw that I needed interfacing which I didn’t have.  AAAAAAGGGGGGHHHHHH!!  I actually felt like I was about to cry so I immediately packed everything away.

I’ve decided that I don’t enjoy sewing clothes.  I tolerate sewing curtains and tailoring the occasional pair of pants but I am completely giving up on blouses.  I’m going to try a pair of pants next – does anyone know whether they will be easier?

Oh, and I also signed up for an “Introduction to Knitting” class at Joannes.  Maybe I’ll be able to knit, although I seriously doubt it because I have a really hard time trying to understand charts and things like that.

The day wasn’t a complete waste of time.  I baked some cookies, watched a cute movie named “Caroline” that starred Shirley MacLaine and Julia Stiles, gathered all the tax stuff, and spent quality time with Lola.

Are Cat Treats an Allowable Deduction?

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sewing Sucks

  1. *Hugs* I wish I were closer. I love to sew and darts don’t faze me in the least. I am out of interfacing but could’ve made a run to get some – and of course I would’ve had to stop in somewhere along the way for ice cream because, hey, what’s a sewing party without ice cream? Or maybe, from the sounds of it, a nice bottle of wine, lol.

  2. catsoul says:

    Your sewing reminded me of my seventh grade experience of sewing. I almost failed that class, I tried to make this pink bathrobe for my sister as a Christmas present. Boy did I suck at this project also. To this day, I am great to sew straight seams. As for knitting, winding the yarn into a ball is relaxing, and maybe Lola can be your assistant, and that would qualify her as a tax right off!! Knitting is very relaxing, you can make scarfs. Knit and purl. If I can do this, so can you sister!! Have fun, isn’t that what life is all about these days? Take care. =^..^=

  3. Bex says:

    I used to make a lot of my clothing when I was younger. Dresses were my favorite things. A-line short-sleeve dresses that didn’t have to fit snug. But now, whenever I haul out the sewing machine to make curtains (just hemming, for pete’s sake) my hands cramp all up with my arthritis and I can’t see the thread the needle and it’s very stressful, like you. I don’t give up on them but by the end I am completely exhausted! I’ve done knitting, crocheting, and even lace-making (doilies actually) and it mostly does require following directions to the letter. It sucks when the body poops out before you want it to!

  4. LA says:

    Sewing machines + LA = Huge Honking Frustrated Crying Fit! I loathe sewing machines. They hate me back, so it’s even. My ex-MIL could make ANYTHING on her machine. I swear she once made a car out of sailcloth and some old tin cans, and drove it for three years. Okay, I kid about the car, it only ran for 6 months. The woman made me crazy with her mad sewing skilz and relentless advice about how I could make all of our clothes and save boodles of money! I finally shut her up when I insisted we go out and price fabric, and then she come with me to shop clearance racks of already made clothes. My shopping skills trumped her sewing skills big time. I bought twice as much clothing as could be made from scratch for the same money. Maybe back in the 1960s when she was sewing up all the kids clothes from fabric bought at the Army PX it was cheaper, but not anymore. ~LA

  5. Terri T says:

    This reminded me of my last sewing attempt. The bobbin fell out, the thread was knotted, the stitches were off, and nothing seemed to go right. But I read the instruction book (after husband downloaded it off the Internet) and got it all fixed and put back into place. Unfortunately by the time I need to use the machine again, I will have forgotten what to do and the thread will probably be so old; it will fall apart.

  6. JJ says:

    Well, I feel SO much better!! Here, I’ve been thinking I’m the only anti-Martha Stewart!!! Thanks, my friends!

Leave a Reply

