Knitting Knuckles

Oh my gosh, I know how to knit now!!!!!  Now don’t get too excited!  I only know how to do the actual “knit” stitch.  I still can’t figure out how to cast on or off.  The instructor tried to teach me by standing behind me and wrapping her arms around me, but the close contact freaked me out and I started waving my needles around so she quickly backed off.

She also tried to teach me how to purl, but I didn’t like that too much so I chose not to learn that yet. That’s what’s great about being 53 – I wasn’t going to let that 73-year-old lady boss me around.  She had the 30-year-old students shaking in their boots and making a complete mess of their project, but I just ignored those gnarly knuckles and kept right on doing the knit stitch.

When I signed up for the class, the receipt stated we needed to bring needles and yarn to class.  As we walked into class, the instructor handed each student a tote bag with needles and yarn…then why did the instructions say I needed to bring them????

The funny thing is that she handed me a skein of “autumn orange” yarn which is what I had originally picked out so now I have enough to make a scarf.

One of the women I work with is going to take my scarf off of the needles when I finish it and then I’m going to teach myself how to purl for the next scarf.  I’ll be a never-ending scarf manufacturer…..heeheehee

Anyone have a cold neck?

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitting Knuckles

  1. You’ll learn to purl – and I bet you learn to cast off, too. Good for you – both for learning AND for not letting that 70-something intimidate you, lol!

  2. Lynn says:

    So…let’s grab a bite and then chai at B&B and I’ll show you how to purl, cast on, cast off and maybe even a fancy combo. Let’s pick a date 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    I learned how to cast on by watching a how-to video on the Michaels website. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

