Popeye

Dear Friends,

Popeye was in a terrible automobile accident on Sunday, July 3 (his little brother’s 22nd birthday}.  He and the Sea Hag got into a verbal altercation after a party, he left the house and smashed into a tree at a very high rate of speed.  We got the phone call and Hub and I drove down to VA immediately.

He has 6 broken ribs, a broken foot which has not yet been repaired and he completely shattered his pelvic/hip area and tore the muscle off the bone.  His hip was somewhat reapired but he will need a complete new hip in two years – when he is 34 years old.He is still in the hospital and myself, my sister and my daughter are flying back to VA tomorrow morning.

There is no worse sound than the sound of your child screaming in pain and there is nothing you can do for him – no matter how old that child may be.

Please pray for him – this is going to be a looonnngggg recovery.  The doctor said he will never be the same.

 

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Popeye

  1. poolagirl says:

    OMG! I am praying for all of you!

  2. catsoul says:

    Oh my god, Joan, that is just awful for him. I will pray for him, his kids, and you and your family. I am also thinking that you should try and get custody of your grandkids. I can’t imagine her, you know who, taking care of them now. I do feel your anguish all over, that scream of a child’s pain, you want to take it in yourself. Suffer the small children, we never want that. Oh my, I wish I could do something more for you, what can I do? =^..^=

  3. kathy says:

    Oh! How terrible, Joan! I’ll be sending vibes of healing!

  4. Carol says:

    Sending good thoughts.

  5. Bex says:

    I will pray for him. and for you and the family. You all will never be the same.

    A close friend of mine was in a motorcycle accident (solo) and broke his neck (his helmet actually caused his neck to break!) He was paralyzed from the neck down for the rest of his life. He had just gotten out of the service and was starting college, at 22.

    That was 41 years ago.

    I saw a photo of my old friend not long ago, sitting in his wheelchair, with his entire family, wife and children!, standing all around him – all with big smiles on. An incredible life he has made for himself and he can only move his head.

    Healing will happen. But it will be a bumpy road.

    Love, Bex

    • JJ says:

      Thanks, Bex. Like my friend says, “From your mouth to God’s ear”, I hope that his life won’t ever be the same – I’m hoping he will learn to live a new life from now on,

  6. Lynn says:

    Stay strong…know you all are loved…and perhaps most importantly, God is good. Your boy WILL come out on the other side a better man for ALL of the past few years, including this most recent tragedy. Hugs to all of you, and let me know if there is ANYTHING that I can do from this end. Love, Lynn

  7. Yankee Chick says:

    OMG! I am so sorry for this tragedy. Keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers.

  8. Mary says:

    Joan, I am so sorry for your family. I’ve been a regular lurker since I clicked your link from Kathy at kitchenblogic. May his and your family’s healing be smooth sailing. You’re all in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

