How It All Began

Over  10 years ago, (Lynn, we were still in the old library), Popeye went to a party at my nephew’s apartment.  Somone spilled a drink on the carpet.  Popeye had his beer muscles on and walked up to the guy (I’ll call him Mad Dog) and told him to wipe it up.  Mad Dog said, “Fock You!”

Popeye then took a swing.  Mad Dog swung back.  A fight ensued, they were seperated and Popey left the party.

While sitting out front waiting for a ride (Hey, he was too drunk to drive – please note the sarcasm), Mad Dog snuck up from behind and jumped him.  Another fight ensued and  eventually Mad Dog bit off a good part of Popeye’s right ear.

Popeye was taken to the hospital in an ambulance after a half hour search for the saliva covered piece of ear.   They were not able to reattach the piece of ear.

Popeye came home the next morning and when I saw what Mad Dog had done to his ear, I crumbled to my knees.  He was discharged from the hospital with instructions to see his family physician on Monday.  No stitches, just a bloody bandage taped to the side of his head that had to be constantly changed.

I took him to our family physician who prescribed Percocet for the pain.  I was more concerned about having him tested for AIDS from the bite than I was about the pain.   The prescription was legally filled two more times. 

Popeye has been addicted to pain killers since then.

Painkillers, alcohol, anger and machismo enable you to think that you can drive a car at a high rate of speed down a windy, country road and survive.

I learned a lot this weekend.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How It All Began

  1. poolagirl says:

    Holy crap! That is horrible! Please know I am holding you in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. catsoul says:

    Joan, I feel your anguish. I find that when I write down what has happened and is happening it helps me to be able to put it somewhere, so that I am able to focus better on the here and now. Life goes down unusual paths sometimes and it involves our children. I just want you to know that I am continuing to think positive and sending healing thoughts to your son, and to everyone in your family. I hope that Lola is also being a comfort to you at this time. Take care. =^..^=

  3. Jean says:

    Oh my god, Joan. My heart is breaking for you. Maybe, hopefully, all of this is the pain of the scab being torn from a festering wound and cleansing and healing can begin for everyone. I have a loved one addicted to pain killers, too. It’s way ugly. I’ll be thinking of you and sending good thoughts!

  4. Mama Monroe says:

    Oh, Joan….my heart goes out to you! I don’t quite understand the attraction to, or subsequent addiction to pain killers. I took Percocet for a few weeks following my spine surgery and recently took it for 2 weeks after my hip surgery. It is wonderful for the pain, but I thought about it a lot while I was taking it and can’t understand why it is something that one would want to take if not needed. I guess that’s the addiction part. They can’t help it. Chuck was SO afraid I’d become addicted, it’s a wonder he didn’t lock them up and make me grovel for them. Seriously. I guess that when mixed with alcohol, they give one quite the high (according to my nephew). I am so very sorry that Popeye got caught up in such a thing and that you are all suffering because of it. Hugs & love to you, Sweet Lady ♥

  5. I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with all of this. You can’t make your kids’ decisions for them after they’re grown, sadly. If it were possible we’d see a lot less heartache worldwide. Here’s hoping this is the wake-up call to Popeye, the one that makes him realize he’s neither invincible nor doing any good for his children with the example he’s setting for them.

Leave a Reply

