Bye Bye, Babies!

So here is what I can’t figure out.

My son acted like a huge asshole on Sunday, July 3rd and got in a terrible accident.  By July 4th at 11:00 AM, the Sea Hag decided the kids needed to get out of town.  She turned down every alternative that I suggested regarding how she could keep the kids in VA and still spend time with Popeye at the hospital.  Hub and I delivered the kids to the Sea Hag’s aunt at 2:00 in the morning on July 5th.

Who does that?

Who sends their two kids 4 states away so she can sit in the hospital with her husband 24/7?  She has not left his side except for one night.

Swee’Pea I and Swee’Pea II have been in PA for 8 days now and she hasn’t asked me one thing about them.  I am picking up Swee’Pea I on Friday night and I will have her for the whole weekend.  So far, I have planned pedicures, craft store, library, book store, ice cream and maybe a movie.  I can’t wait!!!

But seriously, who dumps their kids like that??  My feeling is that she doesn’t know how to deal with those kids because Popeye and her mother have been raising them.  Something tells me that they are going to be in the “City of Brotherly Love” for the rest of the summer…or until Popeye gets our of the hospital and completes his physical  rehab…and maybe another rehab for the pain meds.

The  Sea Hag and I actually did have a “come to Jesus” meeting when I was down there this weekend. She told me everything she knew about the pain med abuse and I listened.  Personally, I don’t know why she didn’t leave Popeye years ago, except for the fact that she may really love him somehow in that twisted brain of hers.

But the kids – nah, there is no maternal instinct there.  Not even a teensy bit.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bye Bye, Babies!

  1. I’m glad you talked to Sea Hag (and vice versa). There were times I had to let someone keep my kids because it was all I could do. I took a lot of grief for it even though it was the safest thing for them at the time. I don’t know if Sea Hag’s reasoning is in the same vein and won’t pretend to understand her fully; but if Popeye’s prescription abuse was that bad there’s more to it than meets the eye. and maybe more to HER than meets the eye. Just goes to show you…

  2. poolagirl says:

    This story is unfolding in an amazing way. Good that you finally spoke to her. Perhaps his accident is the wake-up call they both need.

  3. Mama Monroe says:

    Given her past history, it does seem odd that she wants to sit with him in the hospital 24/7. It would be more in her character if SHE abandoned ship taking the kids with her. It’s also strange that she knew so much about his addiction. I would have thought that he would have tried to hide it from her, or maybe a lot of her problems stem from it being an issue (addiction) for her, as well. This is puzzling. I agree with Poolie and hope this is a wake-up call for them. As for you, I’m so glad you get Swee’Pea for the weekend and so much fun planned with her. It’ll do you a world of good!

  4. Lynn says:

    I remember that first ear incident and your concerns about AIDs and drugs. I wasn’t aware he was still hooked, but it does explain alot. Maybe this is the wake-up call for them as the others say. It took something horrific for my ex and I to ‘wake up’. So very sad that this is what it takes though. So…when do I get to meet Swee’Peas 1 and 2? Can’t wait! The silver lining as they say.

Leave a Reply

