Needles and Noodles

Well, I’m no phlebotomist, but I have been giving Popeye a blood thinner injection every day.  He grabs his belly fat (what little is left on his body) and I jab him with the needle.  I resisted doing it for about 3 days, but I finally realized that somebody had to do it!!!  It’s easier than I thought, but it still freaks me out.

He spoke with the Sea Hag last night.  I am terrified that he’s beginning to soften, but I just keep telling him that I have no doubt she will definitely kill him the next time.  I gave him the phone number of an abuse hotline – he called – no one answered………

I ‘ve been getting up earlier every day to make Popeye his breakfast and lunch.  I pour milk into a thermos and leave that and a bag of cereal on the table next to where he sits all day.  I leave him a big glass of ice water too and then I pack him some sandwiches and leave them in the fridge and then off to work I go. He can’t carry anything, but we attached a plastic basket to his walker so at lunch time, he throws the sandwiches into his walker and makes his way back to his chair for another afternon of naps and TV.

 So far, I actually made dinner every night this week.  Monday night was Shepherd’s Pie, Tuesday night was chicken salad, tonight I made baked ziti.  I can’t even begin to tell you when the last time was that I cooked dinner, so I don’t need to tell you the family is thrilled!

He is going to try to call Swee’Pea in a few minutes to see if the Sea Hag will let him talk to her.  Good luck with that, right?

My daughter is starting to make her wedding plans.  I think the day is going to be November 9th, 2012.  She is so excited and I have to admit, I’m getting excited too.  I thought I would dread the planning, but so far, so good.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Needles and Noodles

  1. It’s pretty pathetic when the abuse hotline goes unanswered, but if it’s a government-funded project I’m sadly not surprised 😦

    • JJ says:

      Can you stand it??? It’s hard enough to get a guy to admit that his wife is beating the crap out of him, and then when he’s ready to make the call, they don’t answer??? Frustrating!

Leave a Reply

