Laughing Lola

My cat, Lola makes me crack up laughing every day.  No matter how sad or anxious I am, I know she’s going to do something that will make me smile.

Like tonight.

We are tearing down our screened in porch to build a family room.  The problem is, this is not only our porch, this is Lola’s domain.

She spent hours every day out here snarling at birds and squirrels and napping, of course.

The contractors took down the ceiling, so the rafters are now open and she can escape to the outside world.  While Popeye and I were sitting outside chatting, she was standing at the sliding door crying to come out.  I went inside and put a collar and leash on her.  I figured she could hang out with us but I could keep her from climbing the screen to get in the rafters.

The second I snapped the leash closed, she took off running through the house.  She ran up stairs and down, over and under the dining room table, around corners and through doorways until she finally hid under my bed.  I coaxed her out and brought her onto the porch with the leash attached.  She was so humiliated that she couldn’t even move.  She actually stayed on my lap with her hair exploding off of her body.  I finally brought her back inside and while I was taking off the collar and leash her ears were folded back so far they looked like little wontons on her head.

She’s laying in the corner of our living room right now staring at me.  I think this is going to be a very long summer.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Laughing Lola

  1. Aww poor kitty. I’m sorry she’s upset; of course you and I know it’s a necessary evil but she doesn’t. Here’s hoping she gets more comfortable with the leash as time goes on.

Leave a Reply

