Bargain Bathing

Popeye was in the accident on July 3, 2011.

His father rescued him from Satan’s Mistress on August 20, 2011  He had a few bird baths, but honestly friends, he was beginning to smell.  I couldn’t figure out how the hell he was going to be able to get a decent shower considering the cast on his leg and the pain he was in.

On Friday night, I went to the local drug store and purchased this bath chair for $47.99.

The next morning I got the smart idea to go out and buy one of those cheap white resin chairs from Home Depot for $7.99.  I returned the expensive bath chair to the pharmacy and brought home the cheap chair.

I put a huge trash bag on Popeye’s leg and then wrapped a big rubber band around the cast to seal it.  Popeye got into the shower with his leg hanging out and sat on the chair – (don’t ask me how, I wasn’t allowed in the bathroom).

After about 15 minutes, he emerged from the bathroom as fresh as a daisy.  I asked how the chair worked out and he said that at first it worked great, but then the warmth of the water softened the plastic and eventually the legs started to spread!!!  He must have looked like a dog on ice!!

Well, I realized the damn plastic chair wasn’t going to work out and figured I would have to use that damn expensive chair from the pharmacy!  Yesterday I was sitting at my desk reading the local news and saw that the nursing home around the corner was having a summer sale at their thrift shop.  At lunch time I ran over there and was able to buy this bath chair for $7.00!!  I brought it home, scrubbed and bleached the hell out of it and now it’s ready for his next bath!

I just love a good bargain!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bargain Bathing

  1. poolagirl says:

    Very inventive, and I’m sure he is very, very happy!

  2. Robin says:

    Great deal on shower/bath chair. Score!!!!!
    I still have shower/bath chair, sans back, that my late Mom used. Also kept rail-grip w/suction; never know when either/both will be useful.
    Hope Popeye is feeling better now that he’s shower fresh!!!

  3. What’s more, that chair is guaranteed to be more comfortable for him to use than the backless stool. Good deal!!!

  4. I’ve had the $47.99 version since my back surgery but would have far preferred the $7.00 model with the back, this time after my hip surgery. Great score, on that deal! But even for almost $50, the other one hasn’t held up real well. After I no longer needed it in the shower, after my back surgery, I used it as a ‘vanity stool’ since I couldn’t stand for more than a couple minutes at a time. The seat has started to ‘break down’ and I think it’s time I found a REAL vanity stool, so I can save what life this has left for when I get my other hip done. 😦 Dread that! As for bathing after both surgeries……Chuck covered my bandaged and later incision areas with saran wrap and sealed it with clear box tape. Hee hee. But, yeah….a person can get pretty ‘ripe’ post surgery, that’s for sure! You’re such a good Mama!! ♥

  5. LA says:

    Well thought out! And clever you for finding a bargain to boot. I’ll bet that shower felt great! ~LA

Leave a Reply

