Pain Pills in PA

Popeye went back to VA and the Sea Hag.

I know, without any doubt, that he would have stayed here longer had he not run out of Percocet.  Unfortunately, I filled and paid for a 21 day / 90 pill prescription for him on Saturday and he took the last one on Thursday night.   He took 90 pills in 6 days which is the “normal” amount of pills that he has been taking for years.

By Friday night, he was in bad shape and then it finally dawned on me that maybe he was starting to detox.  He admitted that all of his meds were gone and he was starting to go through withdrawal and he didn’t want me to see him that way. He was pacing (imagine him pushing the walker back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.  He was sweating and dry heaving and crying and yawning.

He told me that the Sea Hag’s aunt who lives in PA had some percocet that she was willing to give him and would I drive down to Philly and pick it up for him.  Of course, I said no.  I told him I loved him but that now that I realized the severity of his addiction to pain meds, I was not going to enable him anymore.  He understood but was still panicking.  It was so painful to see.

He called the Sea Hag who immediately drove the five hours from VA and was at my house at 12:45 a.m. Saturday morning.  She drove him to the aunt’s house, picked up the Percocet and then drove him right back to VA.

The good thing about all of this is that he has agreed to enter a rehab down in VA as soon as he gets his insurance straightened out.  I’m hoping he follows through.

It was so sad to see him change so quickly.  When he had his meds he was comfortable and sociable and was eating and talking and laughing.  Without meds, he was completely panicked.  The scary part is that he needs meds for the pain – he’s eventually going to have to get the hip replaced and I’m sure they’ll have to give him pain meds again.  If he goes to rehab and then has to have more surgery, how will that work out?

Younger Son is moving back home as soon as daughter moves out in September.  He has found the real world way too expensive. Duuuuuhhhhhh.  He is bringing a kitten home with him and I’m just hoping my allergies don’t flare up!  I’m really looking forward to the kid and the kitten living here!

I’m enjoying the cooler weather.  I’m actually watching my curtain blow in the breeze in my livingroom window – a window that hasn’t been open for 4 months.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pain Pills in PA

  1. Poolie says:

    Oh my gosh! I am so sorry! I can only imagine how your heart must be breaking over this. I wish you well, and I hope he follows through with rehab.

  2. Jean says:

    Oh my. I feel and know your pain. And there’s not a damned thing either of us can do about it. I’m proud of you for standing your ground. Here’s a little hint – if the situation ever arises again – over the counter sleep aids. Dose him up right away and keep dosing him every three or four hours until he gets through the first 24. Those are the worse for them. The next 24-48 are bad, too, but it gets them through the worst of the panic/terror.

    I’m sick that I have this knowlege to share.

  3. I am so sorry that this turned out this way and especially sorry that you had to go thru this and see him like that. Proud of you for dealing with it so well tho’, Sweetie! ♥ You certainly did an amazing job with him. You’re a wonderful, strong Mother!
    Thanks so much for the knitting link! I’m all signed up and looking forward to using the sight!

Leave a Reply

