Lots to Talk About

I have been away for such a long time!  So much has been happening and I’ve just been too tired at the end of the day to write about it.  I’m back now and as God is my witness, I am going to update weekly from now on or my name isn’t Scarlett O’Hara.

I’m warning you now, the next year my blog is going to be filled with moaning and groaning about my daughter’s wedding.  It will also overflow with bitching and cursing about the construction work that is supposed to be going on at my house. I will throw in an occasional entry about my knitting, but bitching will probably be included there too.  Just warnin’ you.

So, daughter is getting married in December 2012 at Congress Hall in Cape May, NJ!

Imagine this in December

 

While vacationing in Cape May years ago, she saw a bride standing on the sprawling lawn of Congress Hall.  Apparently on that summer day, while clutching a salt water taffy in one sandy hand and an all-day-sucker in the other, she vowed, “As God is my witness, I am going to get married at Congress Hall one day or my name isn’t Scarlett O’Hara”.  (Yes, it is indeed a family name)

They became engaged on July 30 and then she and fiancé looked at several places in and around Philly.  Each time she would come home with a murderous look in her eyes and stomp around the house and we would all hide in quiet corners until she calmed down.  She kept telling us the salt water taffy, all-day-sucker story and comparing every place to Congress Hall. Needless to say, every venue paled in comparison to her dream….isn’t that the way it always is?

She scheduled an appointment with the wedding planner at Congress Hall while on vacation last week.  I walked into the ballroom and burst into tears and knew immediately that this was THE place.  Daughter saw me crying and then she started crying.  Husband and fiancé stood on the side looking lost and confused (as usual).

When we started discussing wedding plans a year ago, I told her that because we had paid for 80% of her college tuition, she was responsible for her wedding.

A few months later, I told her that her father and I would give her $10,000.00 towards her wedding, but that was all that we could afford.

A few weeks later, I told her we would give her $10,000.00 for her wedding and pay for her gown, but that was the final offer.

Yesterday I collapsed  and told her we would pay for the entire cost of the wedding and her gown and as God is my witness, I will not give her another penny or my name isn’t……..yeah,  you know the rest.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lots to Talk About

  1. It sucks not being Scarlett, don’t it? 😉

  2. Poolie says:

    Dang! I need Scarlett O’Hara!

  3. Bex says:

    I will wait with baited breath to hear more of the continuing saga. Am not a big “wedding” person either, so better you than me!

  4. I love that you all can make her ‘dream wedding’ come true! But, seriously…….over a year away?? You all will be nuts by then!! LOL But we will listen and eagerly await every detail! ♥

Leave a Reply

