Christmas Insanity

Last night Future Bride/Daughter and I went to Target and I picked up a bunch of gifts for the Sea Hag. (We’re playing nice this year). Popeye said she wanted to start baking with the kids so I bought her cake mixes, and frosting, and cup cake tins and a cup cake carrier and cookie sheets.

He also said she wanted one of those Keurig coffeemakers, but I figured those little pods are so expensive and they wouldn’t have the money to get them so I bought her a Black and Decker single cup coffee maker that pours right into a travel mug.

Then I went totally out of control and bought her socks and pajamas. The pajama top was XXL because she is veeeery busty and the bottoms were XL………………….

With daylight came sanity. I jumped out of bed this morning and smacked myself across the face a couple of times and screamed, “WTF are you thinking!!!!!!! Never, never, never buy clothes for someone who hates you, especially if that someone is a daughter-in-law!”

Can’t you just see all hell breaking loose when she checks out the size on those pajama bottoms!!! How would I explain to her that I was originally going to buy the XXL but hoped that she could squeeze the XL over her vast, angry butt!

Not to mention the baking supplies. I can just see her face all snarled up screaming at Popeye, “Did you tell your mother I never cook for you???”

As soon as I leave work tonight, I am going to take alllllllll of it back and get the Keurig coffee machine for her and move forward.

We will be driving down to VA on Thursday. Wish me luck!

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Insanity

  1. poolagirl says:

    You can’t win! Buy her a broom.

  2. I don’t even know what to say. Been there, definitely – and it sucketh. I hope things even out for you soon. You’re overdue for some easier times.

Leave a Reply

