Japanese and Egyptian

I spent the day with a good friend of mine and her 70 year old exchange student from Japan. My girlfriend houses foreign students through the school year who come to the local community college to learn English as a second language.

This student, Stella, has only been to the USA one other time. She will be living with my friend for the summer and then she’ll move on to another home in town for two years.

Stella needed sandals so we took her to Boscov’s in the local mall. While they were shopping for shoes I ran up to the second level and brought a white chenille bedspread for our room. I grew up with a chenille bedspread and I find them to be so comfortable and cool. I also bought a new blanket of 100% Egyptian cotton. The blanket we have now is constructed of some man made fiber – probably old sneakers and banana peels and I hate it!!!!

I’m hoping these changes help me to sleep a little better at night.

But, back to Stella. Can you imagine traveling to a new country at the age of 70 just to learn another language? Her English is actually pretty good already, so I’m sure she’ll do really well. We had a slice of pizza and she seemed confused when I cut mine into little pieces, but I told her she didn’t have to so she ate hers the “regular” way.

She’s a tiny bit of a thing and she said that the shirt she was wearing was a “large” in Japan. I told her my shirt would probably be sized “gargantuan”.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Japanese and Egyptian

  1. Your Japanese visitor sounds like a very remarkable woman at any age. Bravo for adventure!

  2. poolagirl says:

    I left a comment and it disappeared. Pooo! I started a drawing game with you. I am really bad.

  3. Bex says:

    There are a lot of things about the Japanese that would amaze most of us. They are a remarkable people. A 70-year-old exchange student, I thought that was a typo at first! Good for her. Does she have pizza in Japan? I was watching PBS America’s Test Kitchen making the perfect “St. Louis pizza” the other day on TV and at the end, they cut it up into squares, not regular pizza triangles… I have to get that recipe and make some – it seems very close to my fave pizza from Bertini’s that I wrote about recently… very thin cracker-like crust… and just tomato & cheese on top. yum.

  4. kathy says:

    That is so cool – Stella, the 70-year-old foreign exchange student. She’s an inspiration!!!

Leave a Reply

