Bargains Galore!

Having been raised in an orphanage and never having any money, my mom loves to shop at thrift shops. She takes great delight in showing off her “bargains” to all of us. I don’t think Mom has purchased anything retail in years.

My father must have over 100 pearl button cowboy shirts that Mom has purchased for him through the years at $1.00 – $3.00 a piece. He’s 85 years old – he’ll never wear all of those shirts, especially since he sits around in his cotton pajamas all day watching TV and counting the minutes until he can take his next Ambien or Percocet.

Recently she purchased me 5 of these candle wreaths (see below) because as she said, “I know you love the color orange!!”

The funny part is that she had originally bought me two and then went back a week later and bought me the other three….for 25 cents a piece.

I love to go to Thrift stores too. I collect Napco and Lefton figurines from the 50’s and 60’s and that’s about it. I really don’t like a bunch of knick-knacks lying around the house, but I don’t want to hurt Mom’s feelings, so I smile and thank her whenever she buys me something. You may be thinking I should be honest with her so that she could save her limited funds. Tried that – it didn’t work!!! Some of her past purchases have included:

A peeling decoupaged picture of a young Victorian girl that she thought would look nice in Swee’ Pea’s room

A snow globe with a slot in the bottom to slide your loved one’s picture into so you can view them in eternally swirling snow

A bike helmet for Swee’Pea with only one strap

A collapsible picnic set

A black T shirt emblazoned with a picture of a woman’s huge lips

Multiple Sag Harbor skirt sets with the tags still on them (keep that in mind when you’re shopping – you’ll never wear it once you buy it!)

Angels – jewelry boxes, statues, wall hangings, earrings

I usually just donate these items to Goodwill or Purple Heart, but something tells me she’s going to be looking for those damn orange and yellow candle wreaths the next time she is visiting!

20120621-112805.jpg

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bargains Galore!

  1. Bex says:

    I used to have relatives who constantly would give me chachki’s that I neither liked nor wanted. They always went right into a cabinet or closet. Finally one year I did a big cleanout and donated some and ditched others. Some of them even charity wouldn’t want! My life is much simpler now and no chachki’s enter my life anymore, but I can so empathize with you there.

    • JJ says:

      Hahaha, Bex!! I know!!! Sometimes I look at the item and I know the thrift shop will just toss it if I try to donate it!!!

  2. poolagirl says:

    I could use some of that stuff as set decorations for a show I am writing! And the snow globe thing sounds marvy!

    • JJ says:

      Hahaha!!! Facebook message me your snail mail address!!! I’ve been meaning to send you something else for a while!!!!

  3. Haha! My kids tend not to buy me tchotchkes. My hubby, now, is a whole ‘nother matter… My mom passed in 2002 but she would rather die than buy me anything that might be construed as pretty but non-functional. She would actually harangue my dad if he bought her cut flowers.

    • JJ says:

      I told my husband not to buy me greeting cards. $3.99 to say Happy Birthday!!!?? I can buy a chai tea at Starbucks for $3.99. My mother, on the other hand, spends at least $40.00 monthly on Hallmark cards!!!

Leave a Reply

