Bridezilla

I spent the day with my own little Bridezilla. No, actually, she really has been pretty easy going, but the December 8th wedding day is creeping closer and closer and she is starting to become a little testy. Add to that her very high pressure job and trying to lose about 20 lbs and my sweet daughter has a fuse about as short as a cheap tampon string.

L.J. Along with my very artistic friend are making the centerpieces. Because she is getting married in Cape May, she wants the centerpieces to match the Victorian feel of the city and the sea shore and winter. Each centerpiece will be different and they will not be bouquets of flowers in the middle of each table.

See the picture below? These are just some of the silver trays and candlesticks and crystal and Christmas tree balls and apothecary jars and STUFF that we have collected from yard sales and thrift shops and last year’s Christmas sales. Each table will have three different size items sitting on silver trays with silver balls and bells and sea shells, etc. These centerpieces will all be assembled here, packed in Rubbermaid tubs and carted down to New Jersey the day before the wedding.

My daughter’s idea, not mine. My idea was the easy way – spend a small fortune on flowers and work my ass off for six months to pay everything off.

20120721-184101.jpg

She has also decided that she wants to make all of the bouquets for herself and the girls to carry from silk flowers and lace and satin fabric and seed pearls and oh, hell no, just kill me now!
. I know about cabbage roses and peonies and anemones and just about every white or cream flower there is.

20120721-193819.jpg

Tomorrow, I’m going to the Philadelphia gift show to look for more decorations or something like that with my artist friend and next Saturday, I have an appointment to look for my gown for the wedding.

This is way too much shopping for someone who abhors shopping.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bridezilla

  1. Aww I hope Bridezilla has a collection of her wits and common sense soon. It’s daunting to plan a wedding but shouldn’t become downright painful!

  2. poolagirl says:

    Wow! Very ambitious!

  3. Bex says:

    just left a long-ish reply but it disappeared. Just said a small intimate wedding has a lot going for it, as ours was. No booze, no entertainment just background music on the radio playing, a friend took our photos, another friend provided food for a brunch buffet, we got hitched at 10 a.m. and everyone was home by 1. That’s the kind of wedding I wouldn’t mind attending.

  4. Terry says:

    I have the place to go for silk flowers. Have LJ get in touch with me.

Leave a Reply

