Swee’Pea

20120822-103511.jpg

Swee’Pea #1 will be five years old on Saturday.

I know!!!!!! Can you believe it???? Of course, the usual drama is swirling around her birthday like the dirty water going down the drain after you’ve washed your dog.

Popeye texted me on July 23, “I need a HUUUUGE favor!!!!! Please call me ASAP.”

Sigh….”Huge Favor” always, always, always means money. I didn’t call him ASAP. I just figured if he really needed something he would call me…which of course he did. Bottom line, they were shutting off his electricity again (I went through my blog and saw that I paid his electricity bill around this time last year too) and he needed $630.00 immediately or it would be off by 5:00.

I told him I couldn’t do it. I reminded him about the contractor abandoning the job and his sister’s wedding and the fact that he now made more than his father did. He said he understood and then immediately called his little sister and asked HER for the money. Can you believe it??? This guy has no shame!!!! L.J. called me in tears and I told her she was not to lend him any money – that she had wedding expenses to cover and she couldn’t afford to subsidize her brother.

Back to the birthday. Well, the electricity has been off for weeks and they’ve been living with her mother…again. Popeye THINKS they may be back in his house by the weekend of September 7th when we plan to drive the 5 hours to VA. He states if they are still living with his monster-in-law, we can meet up with him and the kids at a Chuckie Cheese or at the Mall.

Yeah……no. I want to see my grandchildren, but I’m not meeting up with them in a Mall for an hour on a Saturday and then saying “See you in 6 months!” and driving back home.

We used to visit at the monster-in-law’s home, but she has said some rather evil things about and to my son so I prefer not to be in her company. He probably deserved every rotten thing said about him, but you know how it is – I can talk about him likes he a dog, but no one else can.

Oh, by the way, his wife is furious because they don’t have the money to finish her rather large and ugly memorial tattoo of her father who was found dead two years ago in his car after the neighbor through a bucket of water on him to see if he was just sleeping…

Priorities, ladies and gentlemen, priorities!!!!

So, do I wait to see if they’re back home by the 7th or should I just send Swee’Pea her presents now?

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Swee’Pea

  1. beanie says:

    I would send them to arrive as close to her birthday as possible. Then if you do go down there, you will be there when they get there, and if you don’t go, at least she will know you were thinking of her. No sense punishing the kid….

    • JJ says:

      I hear what you’re saying, Beanie. I wish I could somehow make everything right for both of my grandchildren and I am ashamed of my son for exposing them daily to the drama!

  2. Bex says:

    Whew, a lot to take in, and a lot to deal with. Good decisions by you… I like Beanie’s suggestion the best. Families can ravage the souls of angels…given the opportunity!

  3. Terri Tinkel says:

    Yes, send her the presents….no money! What a shame that she has to live like that…..So hard when you are a grandparent or aunt and can’t do anything about it.

    • JJ says:

      I think I might have more influence if these were my daughter’s kids, but my son just floats through life and never touches down and his wife is craaaaaaaaazy.

  4. It’s so very hard when you have to deal with drugs and other insanity in your family. If I had it all to do again I’m not sure I’d have children because they were subjected to so much.

    • JJ says:

      You are so right, Leilani. It is so hard for me because there is nothing I can do to help my son. He has to want to get better.

      • You have no idea how much I understand. My younger son’s car was impounded for 30 days because of a DUI a couple of weeks ago. My daughter told me as of this weekend he had rented a car and was drinking and driving again. He’s already got a mandatory jail sentence ahead of him, will probably lose his (damned good) job, and refuses to attempt a change.

        My older son is addicted to prescription painkillers and has two precious little boys who need him. His dad passed away at 37 as a result of drugs and the boys were in the room when he died. I had hoped if nothing else that would have prevented them from following that road. Apparently nothing helps when you are determined to destroy yourself and take everyone out with you. 😦

        I just pray when our kids’ stupidity inevitably causes irreparable harm, the grandbabies are safely with their grandparents 😦

      • JJ says:

        Those Fu**ing painkillers. That’s my oldest son’s issue. Breaks my heart!

  5. poolagirl says:

    My heart is aching for you. And for those sweet kids. Hugs.

  6. yankeechick says:

    Holy Crap! Priorities.Responsibilities. Why can he not wake up and tend to those basic family needs?!? I can only imagine how hard it must be for you to know that your dearest grand-babies are living with this drama & BS. **hugs**

    • JJ says:

      Thanks, Peggy! I truly feel like I spoiled Popeyes and he never thinks of anyone buy himself. Thanks for the hugs – I need them!

  7. Judy Miller says:

    The dang kids can make it on their own, but when their lifestyle reflects badly on their kids, my grand kids? I really get angry.

    • JJ says:

      Exactly, Judy! I’m afraid that some day when my grand kids are older they are going to ask me why I didn’t help them more. I don’t know what my answer will be.

  8. Jean says:

    So…what did you decide to do???

Leave a Reply

