Email is Not Always a Good Thing

I’m working the late shift today so I was determined to sit down and write.  I ‘ve sat here for 10 minutes trying to think of something good that has happened lately and my mind is a blank so let me just start writing and maybe something will pop up.

I woke up Sunday morning and suddenly everything that has been going on in my life just sent me plummeting. Popeye is most definitely in a very bad place. My father is very, very sick – he has gone to the ER once a month for the last 7 months.  My house is still a mess and we just learned that the sheriff was unable to serve that lying thief with the court papers so now we have to pay a process server to track down his sneaky ass to serve him.  A girl I worked with for 6 years was diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer (hadn’t smoked for over 20 yearws), went into hospice and died the next  day (all this within a 6 month time frame).

I’m not whining – I’m just setting you up for what happened next.  So, I’m in the shower and crying and then I got dressed and I’m still crying.  I go downstairs and my husband looks at me and says, (brace yourself, ladies), “What’s wrong now?”

Now, I haven’t cried in months.  When you’re on EFFex*r, as I am, it’s hard to cry.Sometimes you know a good cry will help, but the seratonin keeps that from happening.

Sooooooo, I grabbed my keys and jumped in the car and started driving and driving and driving until I ended up at Joanne Fabrics where I wandered for two hours.  I always heard about retail therapy but never experienced it.  I wore sunglasses the whole time because my face looked like a pizza – I must have looked so mysterious perusing the notions and glue guns.

With bags full of fabric and fun Halloween stuff for the grandkids, I decided to go home to watch the Eagles game.  My daughter and her fiancee and my youngest son were there and the Eagles were winning and it was turning out to be a decent day and I picked up my IPhone to check my email and discovered a suicide email from Popey written about 20 minutes prior.  Because he has been known to stockpile drugs, I was sure he had everything he needed to do it.

I leaped out of my seat, called the Sea Hag and then had my daughter call 911.  They sent her to the state police in VA who headed right over to where my son was (apparently he’s been sleeping and showering at his work – he has keys to the building and sneaks back in after everyone leaves).

Loooooooooooooong story short. The Sea Hag got to him before the State Police and he refused to go to the hospital.  However, he has admitted he has a problem and is actively seeking a treatment center.

So there – that’s the good thing…sorry you had to slop through all the crap to get to it.

 

 

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Email is Not Always a Good Thing

  1. Bex says:

    I am so sorry you are going through all this turmoil. It isn’t fair. I know some people who never seem unhappy or down, smiling all the time, cheerful, chipper, and they drive me nuts! I suppose underneath they have issues, as well, and this is just their chosen way of presenting themselves. I myself am not chipper and being around a chipper person is pure torture. I truly pray that your son can get some professional help for himself. I’ve been in the depths of a depression myself and it’s so hard pulling up out of that deep well alone. ((hugs)) for you.

    • JJ says:

      Bex, I really believe that his addiction to pain meds is actually a result of him being depressed. He has NEVER had a good opinion of himself. He MUST go to a therapist if he ever wants to get better.

  2. *HUGE hugs* It isn’t whining when legitimately crappy things are happening in your life. I truly hope Popeye will get help and do things right. It will be very hard for him, but he has some precious reasons why. I hope they are enough.

    • JJ says:

      Leilani, I have never understood how he continues to spend so much money on drugs and ignore the fact that he hasn’t paid rent in 10 months! N

      • Remember, I was married to my own Popeye. I was the breadwinner – when my spouse wasn’t lightening my wallet (which happened constantly up until I opened a bank account where I omitted his name). He never worked in the eleven or so years we were together. I had four children in that period and still had to be our sole support. It’s ugly and it’s unfair and it’s horrible. And it’s the nature of the beast when drugs of any kind are involved.

  3. 67andgood says:

    I am really sorry. It’s no fun to be the one who has to keep everything going and make happy faces. I’m glad you were able to cry and let some of that out…Too bad your husband didn’t know what to say……I hope Popeye does get the help he needs and all of your lives get better. I think you did the right thing by going somewhere to wander among pretty things….Maybe a few more cries in the shower and retail trips (even if you don’t spend money) are in order.

  4. poolagirl says:

    OMG! I am so very sorry this is all happening. Hope things calm down soon.

    • JJ says:

      Thanks, Poolie. I’m at the hair salon right now and I’m very relaxed! I think I’m going to schedule a facial for next week….just another way to relax.

Leave a Reply

