The Party’s Over

Oh Dear Lord! I just found out that my husband’s work schedule is going to change. For the last two years he has worked 3 12 hour days and then had off 4 days. He will now be working a five day schedule and every other Saturday.
I think that means I’m going to be seeing more of him…which means I’m probably going to need to start cooking again.
Gone are my quiet nights of watching my dvr’d shows while eating a pop tart and drinking a diet Coke. Gone are the 5 hour laundry nights where I can run up and down the stairs, doing laundry and not being asked to sit down because I’m making him feel guilty about not working.
What does one talk to a husband about night after night after night?
Well, I guess I’m gonna find out on Monday!

About JJ

ā€œ"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'ā€ William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Party’s Over

  1. catsoul says:

    Holy shit batman!! I guess you are going to have a sidekick to all your night festivies!! I would guess you offer him a choice of pop tarts and diet coke. Take care. =^..^=

  2. Bex says:

    Maybe you should suggest that now that he’s home and needs a hobby, he could take up cooking the dinner for you both. That ought to keep him busy for a couple of hours at least…

  3. I like Bex’s idea – though if he’s trading 12’s for 8’s he’ll actually be gone more overall, not less. You just need to rearrange the treat time for yourself!

  4. 67andgood says:

    Have to get your fun time in…….he’ll probably have a period of adjustment and need more sleep for awhile…plus if he does any chores at all; he will have to fit them in too. It’s good practice for retirement…..I had almost 2 years of retirement of my own (I retired at 62 1/2) before my husband retired….that really WAS an adjustment.

Leave a Reply

