Afternoon Tea

20130113-103544.jpg

I had a lovely get together with some of the girls in my family yesterday. In the above picture is my niece, Katie – myself – my cousin,Terry – my sister, Pat – my sister, Kathy and my daughter, Laura.

We had planned the get-together to spend time with my Mom, but early that morning, she had to call an ambulance to have my Dad take to the hospital as he has stopped eating and drinking. All he wants to do is sleep and when he’s not sleeping ( which only happens at night when he SHOULD be sleeping), he’s begging, threatening, shouting, crying for more pain meds or At1van. Now what is frustrating is that when he gets to the hospital, he never complains about any pain and starts eating again.

My mother is exhausted and we wanted her to have a day out, but my dad screwed that up. ( can you tell I’m fed up with his addictions?!?!) Mom insisted we get together anyway and I’m so glad we did!

We went to A Taste of Britain and as soon as we sat down we toasted out grandmother Primrose McCann, a Welsh immigrant. We also toasted our two Aunts, Peggy and Polly who may not be here with us but are always in our hearts.

20130113-110122.jpg

I ordered pumpkin, butternut squash and 4 tea sandwiches and creme brulee tea. For dessert, I ordered a delicious lemon scone with lemon curd.

My cousin ordered Spotted Dick….which of course made us all giggle…and then wish we had ordered it when it was delivered…see below. It looked delicious!!!!

20130113-110415.jpg

After lunch we stopped at the hospital to visit Dad and to pick up Mom. I brought her back to my house and made her scrub her hands before she touched anything. I brewed her a lovely cup of tea and she enjoyed that with some danish. I’m so worried that she is going to get sick with the horrible flu that is going around…as a matter of fact, I am not going to let her visit my Dad today. The less time she spends at the hospital, the healthier she may stay.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Afternoon Tea

  1. poolagirl says:

    I am so sorry you are going through all of this with your parents. Very draining. Glad you have good friends.

    • JJ says:

      Thanks, Poolie. I just spoke to her on the phone and she sounded so upset because my father called her this morning and told her that no one was going to keep him for going home and that she HAD to take care of him. She tried to address the addiction issue and he wouldn’t discuss it. I feel so bad that she had to quit her job, stop living her life – to care for an addict.

  2. Bex says:

    Life is not fair. Your meal sounded perfect. Hospitals are not good if you don’t want to get sick. Wearing a little white mask might be a good idea if you must go there. And gloves.

  3. Good for you on keeping your mom free of the hospital. From everything the news says, this year’s flu bug is particularly nasty. I got my flu shot and crossing my fingers it works! Even if you got the shot, though, you’re tempting fate by going to the hospital where it’s virtually guaranteed to be lingering in the air.

Leave a Reply

