Shingles

I have shingles.

I did get the vaccine last year – I am lucky enough to be insured by a company that pays 100% for this vaccine for members over 50 years old.

Last Tuesday and Wednesday, my upper left butt cheek was burning all day – I just assumed that my sensitive skin was acting up. On Thursday night, I noticed some itching and after several abruptly aborted attempts to view my own ass in the mirror, I made my husband check out my butt.

Yeah, as you can imagine, he was real excited. So, he tells me he can see about 8 -10 little bumps. I yelled,” God Damn it, I know I have shingles!!”

He responded, “How could you possibly know you have shingles – you always have to be so dramatic!”

Pulling my underwear up with a snap – well as much of a snap as a year old pair of Hanes, Just My Size Hi-Cut underwear can have after a zillion washings, I glared at him and said, “I told you I have shingles and the Dr. will agree with my diagnosis tomorrow!”

Promptly the next morning, I saw the Dr. who confirmed my diagnosis. She told me that the vaccine is not 100%, but the fact that I had the vaccine should minimize the side effects from the shingles. She also prescribed Valtrex which is used to treat cold sores and genital herpes so I’m covered from one end to the other.

The meds make me sleepy and mean. Yesterday, I unfriended several people on Facebook and I made the cat sleep on Don’s side of the bed.

Yes, I can be a bitch when provoked.

About JJ

“"Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy, which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.'” William Butler Yeats
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Shingles

  1. Bex says:

    You have my sympathies – my Mom got shingles when she had throat cancer – she had it on the back of her head and went right up the wall with the pain. I hope it is minimal for you.

  2. ovalgurl says:

    Dealing with them here too. No vaccine. Two weeks of unmitigated joy with the rash covering my left armpit and down my side. It’s healing and so far no residual effects. Hope you mend fast, sweetie. This stuff is a bugger. ~LA

  3. catsoul says:

    hi, sorry to read that you have shingles. Ouch! Randy, the nurse, said that your shingles will be contagious when they are weeping, so maybe you will be able to stay home from work on those days. I hope that you aren’t a picker. Anyhoo, sorry about all the stress you have been enduring lately. Take Care. =^..^=

    • JJ says:

      I’m definitely not a picker. I can’t see them so I don’t know if they’re weeping, but they’re covered by my undies, so I think everyone is safe!

  4. kathy says:

    Cripes! I totally forgot to get the shot! I need to go get the shot because I’m worried now that you may give me shingles over the internet!

  5. poolagirl says:

    Hope you heal quickly! I am thinking of you!

  6. poundheadhere says:

    Dang it, you can’t win. Hope you feel better soon!

  7. 67andgood says:

    Husband and I got the shingles shot 2 years ago via Medicare. I have been having a little puffy, itchy breakout around one eye off and on since then. I wonder if it is shingles….it goes away after about 3 days when I put eye cream on it. I thought it was allergies since it doesn’t get a blister…..whatever. My sympathies….

  8. Betsy Schmidt says:

    OK, OK, I’m a little late to the game. till made me laugh. 😉

Leave a Reply

